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CONSUMER ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

Repair Assistance and Vehicle Retirement 
Requirements and Application 

 

 

 
 
 

 

The Consumer Assistance Program (CAP) is administered by the 
Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR) and is designed to help 
improve California’s air quality. CAP offers consumers up to $500 in 
financial assistance towards certain emissions-related repairs. In 
addition, CAP offers consumers $1,000 or $1,500 to retire a 
qualified vehicle. 

Para obtener una solicitude n español, llámenos a BAR a 866.272.9642. 

 
 

REPAIR ASSISTANCE REQUIREMENTS 

Under the Repair Assistance option, vehicle owners who meet the following eligibility requirements may 
receive up to five hundred dollars ($500) in emissions-related repairs performed at licensed Smog Check 
Test-and-Repair stations holding valid STAR certification and operating under an agreement with BAR.  
NOTE: Financial assistance is based on the availability of funds. 

 The vehicle must have failed its “biennial” 
(every other year) Smog Check inspection as 
required by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV) (aborted, manual mode, and training 
mode tests do not qualify). 

 The vehicle must not have a tampered 
emissions control system. 

 The vehicle must be currently registered with 
the DMV with a valid, unexpired registration 
sticker OR have all fees paid to the DMV and 
not have a registration that has been expired 
more than 120 days.  

 The vehicle registration must not have lapsed 
for more than 120 days during the two 
consecutive years preceding the current 
registration expiration date. 

 The vehicle must not be undergoing a transfer of 
ownership, initial registration, or re-registration in 
California. 

 The vehicle must not be registered to a business, 
fleet, or non-profit organization. 

 You must be the registered owner with title issued in 
your name.  

 You must have a household income that is less than 
or equal to two hundred twenty-five percent (225%) of 
the federal poverty level, as published in the Federal 
Register by the United States Department of Health 
and Human Services.  

 You must not have previously received assistance for 
the same vehicle through CAP. 

If approved, the applicant must pay the total cost of testing and diagnosing the emissions-related failure as 
co-payment for participating in the Repair Assistance option. The co-payment shall be paid directly to the 
station that performs the state subsidized emissions-related repair work under agreement with BAR. 

Do not have emissions-related repairs performed on your vehicle until your application has been 
approved.  

The State does not have authority to reimburse consumers. 
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VEHICLE RETIREMENT REQUIREMENTS – Option 1 

Under Vehicle Retirement Option 1, payment of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) for each 
vehicle retired from operation for vehicle owners that meet income eligibility requirements. All other vehicle 
owners shall receive one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each vehicle retired from operation. All vehicles shall 
be retired from operation at a dismantler operating under contract with the Bureau of Automotive Repair 
(BAR). NOTE: Financial assistance is based on the availability of funds.  

 The vehicle must have failed its most recent Smog 
Check inspection (aborted, manual mode, and 
training mode tests do not qualify). 

NOTE: The Smog Check failure must not be due 
solely to an ignition timing adjustment, a failed gas 
cap functional test, or a tampered emissions 
control system where the tampered system is the 
cause for failing the Smog Check inspection. 

 The vehicle must not be undergoing an initial 
registration or re-registration in California. 

 The vehicle must not be undergoing a transfer of 
ownership. 

 The vehicle must not be registered to a business, 
fleet, or non-profit organization. 

 The vehicle must not be a dismantled or a total 
loss salvaged vehicle that has not been re-
registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV). 

 The vehicle must be a passenger vehicle, truck, 
sports utility vehicle (SUV), or van with a gross 
vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less.  

 The vehicle must be currently registered with the 
DMV with a valid, unexpired registration sticker 
OR have all fees paid to the DMV and not have a 
registration that has been expired more than 120 
days. 

 The vehicle must have been registered in 
California for two consecutive years preceding the 
current registration expiration date and the 
registration must not have lapsed for more than 
120 days during those two years. 

 You must be the registered owner of the vehicle 
with vehicle title issued in your name. 

 You may only retire one vehicle as a sole owner 
OR two vehicles as a joint owner through CAP 
within a twelve (12) month period. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If approved, the vehicle must pass an equipment and operational inspection (see page 4) at a BAR-
contracted dismantler. 

Do not retire your vehicle until your application has been approved.  

The State does not have authority to reimburse consumers. 
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VEHICLE RETIREMENT REQUIREMENTS – Option 2 

Under Vehicle Retirement Option 2, vehicle owners who meet the following eligibility requirements may 
receive payment of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) at a dismantler operating under contract 
with BAR. NOTE: Financial assistance is based on the availability of funds. 

 Vehicles not exempt from the Smog Check Program 
must have successfully completed a Smog Check 
inspection (pass or fail) within 180 days prior to the 
date of application (aborted, manual mode, and 
training mode tests do not qualify). 

 You must be the registered owner of the vehicle with 
vehicle title issued in your name. 

 You must have a household income that is less than 
or equal to two hundred twenty-five percent (225%) 
of the federal poverty level, as published in the 
Federal Register by the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services. 

 You may only retire one vehicle as a sole owner OR 
two vehicles as a joint owner through CAP within a 
twelve (12) month period. 

 The vehicle must not be undergoing an initial 
registration or re-registration in California. 

 The vehicle must not be registered to a business, 
fleet, or non-profit organization. 

 The vehicle must not be a dismantled or a total loss 
salvaged vehicle that has not been re-registered with 
the DMV. 

 Vehicles that hold a salvage title must be registered 
at the time of application. 

 The vehicle must be a passenger vehicle, truck, 
sports utility vehicle (SUV), or van with a gross 
vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less. 

 The vehicle must be currently registered with the 
DMV with a valid, unexpired registration sticker OR 
have all fees paid to the DMV and not have a 
registration that has been expired more than 120 
days. 

 The vehicle must have been registered in California 
for two consecutive years preceding the current 
registration expiration date and the registration must 
not have lapsed for more than 120 days during those 
two years. 

 The vehicle may also be eligible if proven to have 
been primarily driven in California for the last two 
years and not have been registered in any other 
state or country in the last two years. Documentation 
of operation in California must include the following: 

 Proof of continuous insurance coverage in 
California for the two consecutive years preceding 
application, without lapses in insurance coverage 
totaling more than 120 days; OR 

 At least two invoices from an Automotive Repair 
Dealer registered at the time of the repair with the 
Bureau pursuant to Section 9884.6 of the Business 
and Professions Code showing the following: 

- The Automotive Repair Dealer’s valid 
registration number, as issued by the Bureau. 

- The name and address of the Automotive 
Repair Dealer, as shown on the Bureau’s 
records. 

- Description of a repair or maintenance 
operation performed to the vehicle. 

- The vehicle year, make, model, and vehicle 
identification or license plate number matching 
the vehicle to be retired. 

- The date of the repair or maintenance visit. 

NOTE: Invoices submitted for the purpose of 
satisfying this requirement shall be from two 
separate calendar years. The oldest invoice may 
not be older than twenty-four months (24) prior 
to the date of application. 

If approved, the vehicle must pass an equipment and operational inspection (see page 4) at a BAR-
contracted dismantler. 

Do not retire your vehicle until your application has been approved.  

The State does not have authority to reimburse consumers. 
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VEHICLE RETIREMENT – Equipment and Operational Requirements 

After approval of an application and prior to being accepted for retirement, the vehicle must pass 
equipment and operational inspections performed on the items listed below at a BAR-contracted 
Dismantler. 

Vehicle Equipment Requirements 

 All doors are present. 

 The hood lid is present. 

 The dashboard is present. 

 The windshield is present. 

 At least one side window glass is present. 

 The driver's seat is present. 

 At least one bumper is present. 

 The exhaust system is present. 

 All side and/or quarter panels are present. 

 At least one headlight, one taillight, and one brake light are present. 

Vehicle Operational Requirements 

 The vehicle is driven under its own power to a BAR-contracted dismantler site. 

 The vehicle's engine starts readily through ordinary means without the use of starting fluids or 
external booster batteries. 

 The drivability of the vehicle is not affected by any body, steering, or suspension damage. 

 The vehicle is able to drive forward a minimum distance of ten (10) yards under its own power. 

 The interior pedals are operational. 

 

HOUSEHOLD INCOME VERIFICATION 

To qualify for Repair Assistance or Vehicle Retirement based on income level, you must have a household 
income that is less than or equal to two hundred twenty-five percent (225%) of the federal poverty level, as 
published in the Federal Register by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 
 

Prior to approving applications, BAR may require you to provide documentation verifying household income. If 
requested, you will be required to verify your household income in ONE of the following ways: 

 Provide a copy of either your Federal 1040 or State 540 Income Tax Form filed in the most recent tax 
year AND a copy of an employment warrant (paycheck stub) reflecting year-to-date earnings, hours 
worked and hourly wage.  

 Provide a letter from the issuing agency stating that you receive Public Assistance benefits. 

 Provide a copy of one of the following income verification documents: 

 An unemployment, veteran’s benefits, or disability check issued to you within the past sixty 
(60) days. 

 A bank statement issued in the past sixty (60) days reflecting a direct deposit of Social Security 
or Public Assistance funds. 
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